What is Montessori?

Montessori is the world’s largest global education movement. It was inspired by Italy’s first female doctor, Maria Montessori (1870-1952). She was a true pioneer of child-centred education.

The Montessori approach is holistic and aims to develop the whole child. What makes it work so well is that it is based on a deep understanding of the way children learn – through choosing, trying and doing themselves. Montessori fundamentally believed that a child’s early years – from birth to six – is the period when they have the greatest capacity to learn. There are 600+ UK Montessori schools and 22,000 worldwide. A recent census showed that 88% of OFSTED inspected Montessori schools were graded “outstanding” or “good”. The benefits Montessori brings to children are well recognised by educationalists, cognitive psychologists and neuroscientists. Montessori children show high levels of positive social and behavioural development.

A study, commissioned by the Montessori St Nicholas Charity, established that Montessori-educated children have a higher than average level of cognitive attainment at 5 years old.
Frequently Asked Questions about Montessori education can be found here.

Further information on Montessori Education can be found at:

Montessori Centre International
Montessori Education UK
Montessori Society AMI UK

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives parents/carers confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.
In addition to standards on welfare, the EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

The 3 prime areas are:
– Communication and language;
– Physical development; and
– Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:
– Literacy;
– Mathematics;
– Understanding the world; and
– Expressive arts and design

Further information for parents is available here.
The children’s house meets the requirements and supports children’s learning and development in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) through a Montessori ethos and curriculum. Further information on the links between the EYFS and Montessori can be found here.